New Years Day Ride

I had BIG plans for this blog, the official launch date for the Back On Track Cycling blog.  A feast for the eyes with video and photographs but tech let me down.  I say tech, it may have been user error in setting up GoPro Quik app.  To be honest I don’t blame myself, I never do anything wrong, just ask Mrs T.

I organised a New Years Day ride for Back On Track Cycling and invited a local cycling club, Dunmow Velo to join us, around 10 riders turned up.  The forecast was a little dodgy with torrential rain for 1100, this did depend on which weather app you used.  Luckily the rain held off but the roads were still a little wet.

I’d organised the ride to sit at a steady 15mph and did we stick to it, no!!!  Admittedly it was downhill for a few miles and 17 creeped into 18mph.  The pace was eventually bought back.

After a toilet break on the route, ‘even Chris Froome needs to pee’ someone exclaimed, we continued the last few miles.  Essex roads have been redressed and there is a lethal combination of loose gravel and wet roads.  Thankfully we all managed to stay up right and only resulted in one puncture.

img_5756

No point in us all getting involved so let’s all stand around while one completed the repair.

My plan was to take a few short video clips, edit them and put a short film together, showing the ride in it’s full glory, well the bits that made us look good.  My inner Spielberg materialised and the filming commenced.

All was going to plan until I came back home, plugged in the GoPro, the Quik app opened downloaded 1 of 5 clips.  Kept the 1 and deleted all the others!!!  I am struggling to use this app so will continue with GoPro Studio and hopefully keep some of my work.

Below is the video that I was left with and edited.  I hope you enjoy

I’d like to say thanks for all those who joined Back On Track Cycling today.  The ride was enjoyable and met some new fellow cyclist.

 

Happy New Year to everyone and ride safe out there.

2 thoughts on “New Years Day Ride

Leave a Reply

