Mr Forgetful

Tech is a major player within the cycle industry and new stuff, good or bad, arrives on the market nearly every day. The tech we could carry when riding is close to weighing more than the bike.
Does tech over run our cycling enjoyment? “If it is not on Strava it does not count.” You can hear the words being echo’d.

All this aside, I love a gadget, I use Strava, Garmin, Zwift, Beeline to name but a few. Plus I am partial to all things Apple. Yes I am one of those people. 

Lainey worries about me when I am at work and when I am riding my bike. Imagine how high her heart rate must be when I combine the two and ride to work. I try to put her mind at ease, I have set up Live Tracking (Garmin) and Beacon (Strava). Most may have used these notification services, for those who do not, it allows you to enter your chosen email addresses and once you start riding it sends a message, via your phones Bluetooth, advising a loved one that you have started riding and your location. Between us we utilise Find Friends on the iPhone, just in case the others do not work and now makes us sound look like we stalk each other.
So imagine the day I rode 35 miles into the centre of London for a night shift and to return home the following morning with no phone, no ID and no money. I had packed all the mentioned items in my pOcpac dry pouch and duly left them on the worktop at home. This I did not realise until I arrived at work. I opened my work emails to send Lainey a message, let her know I had arrived safe and sound and apologising for my forgetfulness. She had beaten me to it, informing me of my stupidity and the words that followed even turned the Fire Station blue.
Swearing and profanities aside, justifiable of course, the lack of contact did start to make me feel a little uncomfortable and vulnerable. The requirement to ride home out of London and onto the quiet roads of Essex started to concern me. I had left my OneLifeID band at work so I had identification and the means for my rescuers to contact Lainey. At which point she would have killed me if I was injured.  
Reading this back seems to suggest I forget a lot!!!!
With the tech I have, or did not the day in question, there was no way of contacting Lainey if I needed help, no way to pay for cab home or call for one, or if the worst had happened for someone not to know my location. We sometimes moan about tech but it is engrained in our lives. It does play an important part. I do not need it but like it to be there just in case I do. Anyway, imagine the stat of my cleats and the bottom of my shoes if I had to walk home. Priorities people!!!!

Please note; I have been asked to add a disclaimer. I have not asked Lainey to proof read this entry, as stated in a previous blog. If there are any spelling mistakes or errors then it is purely my fault. 

Leave a Reply

